Today was the first day I legitimately wanted to be home in Oregon. I wanted to be back in my comfort zone with my safety net full of people. I know when I write on here I tend to dwell on the bad times the most (especially when I write about home)... I don't mean to but I guess this where I like to place my negativity while it hides behind all the smiling and laughing. Anyways what I'm trying to say is that my time in Oregon wasn't always as terrible as I seem to make it sound. I had an amazing group of friends there. They all loved me and cared for me. They would have done anything for me. I had a girlfriend that I was lucky enough to share my whole senior year with. That was pretty incredible. I had a best friend who lived 2 hours south of me who I shared an incredible amount of growing up with. It's not easy doing it alone. I learned the most from her, hands down. I don't know if anything will match up to all those experiences we shared. I had a Mom and Dad that I could hang out. I had a job that was the biggest joke but was always always entertaining. I had a brother that I fought and laughed with. I know I'm making it seem like all those things are gone - which I know they aren't - its just not sitting comfortably in my back pocket. I'm on my own which yes is a big scary thing but I mean I've learned a lot about who I am since I've been on this journey. It's hard. It is. To be alone but I feel its something people should do. If you're dependent on people all the time what do you really know about yourself? You don't push and test yourself in a comfort zone. You don't try knew things because you simply don't have to. Being on your own is bittersweet.
The thing I've been missing most lately is the sober moments. When I used to hang out with people like Josh, Neb, Meesh, Junk, Brad, Mike, Scotch, Chris, Joel, Pollman, Jordan and Nick we'd ALWAYS be laughing. At something. The craziest part was that we were sober. We were just weird as fuck and it was hilarious. The amount of inside jokes that are shared between all those people is endless. Everything was funny all the time. It was impossible to not have fun. Even when we were all bored together. We were laughing and it was simple.
Las Vegas isn't like that. We're good friends in all but we're always either getting drunk or out getting drunk. Sure we laugh about the drunk things we did last night but its not the same. While we're sober we kinda don't hang out with each other. We just do our own things. We don't really hang out together. I don't even know why its like this. Do we really know each other? I got to know Jon really well the first couple of months I lived here but something changed. Maybe it was school starting and me getting a job but now the only time we really kick it is when its the weekend and its time to drink. This was the first weekend I DIDN'T wanna drink. At all. I wanted to be mellow and relax. I didn't wanna shake hands with people and try to differentiate who I know and who I don't. I didn't wanna have awkward drunken conversations with some girl about god knows what. Honestly, I can't even tell you half of the kids name's I've met. I just wanted to lay in my bed and watch a movie. Or go see one. Or play video games until I'm delusional.
Las Vegas is a great city...but some times I really miss my laid back Portland. And every one that came with it.
No comments:
Post a Comment