It had been 2 days since I'd herd from Josh. When he finally called me today I didn't really have too much to say. I was still upset and he knew it. I realize this sounds a bit dramatic considering I'm with the kid every day but when you go from being with Josh 2 days straight and then not hear from him at all, its a bit strange. Especially with how Saturday night went.
My sister came home for Thanksgiving and was staying till Sunday so naturally we had a little party with her friends and mine before she left. Basically that night was some what of a blur but I do remember Josh being pretty drunk. We all are were. Since we were having a party at my house my parents were hanging around drinking as well and they had taken every ones keys. Basically at some point in the night - I don't really remember when - Josh decided to leave. He apparently had driven up to this other party out on the back roads where I'm sure he drank more. While he was there I got a call from Alyssa saying that Josh was drunk as fuck and had just left Chris'. After that he then left and apparently drove to my friend Jordana's house. I remember getting a text around 2:30 or so from Tavia telling me I need to "watch out for Josh" or something a long those lines. He apparently was too drunk to stand so they had to help him into Jordana's. Then later they drove him home.
Waking up to this in the morning I was pissed. This was not the first time Josh has driven intoxicated. He always drives fucking drunk or high or whatever. I've told the fucking kid many times that its not fucking cool at all and that he's a dumbass. I seem to have that conversation a lot with him. Whether its about his coke binges, the amounts he smokes or him driving drunk, they are always popping up. So I can't help but ask myself, what its gonna take? Does he need to get in a fucking car wreck? Does he need to get caught by the cops? At this point that seems like the only thing. I know he doesn't have the greatest family life with is Dad always gone, his Mom too tired of raising kids and his extremely successful older siblings he feels he has to compete with. I know its a lot of stress and not a lot of direction with him but I can't handle it. I hate seeing my best friend with all these issues and me trying to fix it. So far it hasn't worked and it probably never will. I just don't wanna know what its gonna take for him to finally figure it out. Hopefully nothing too extreme.
Anyways, when I finally got a call from him he informed me that he had been baking weed edibles with Wes all day and that he was gonna stop by on his way home. Being Josh he offered me a cookie and being myself I said no. When he showed up I didn't say much. I asked about Wes'. He asked (again) why I don't smoke anymore. I told him (again) that I don't because I'm over it and that I think I have better things to do. He tries again to convince me other wise. When I finally bring up Saturday it doesn't go over well. He said the same shit he always says,"Oh yeah bro, I was so fucked up, I'm so mad I drove. Like seriously I don't even wanna talk about it so many people said shit to me." I just nodded and said, " Yeah dude you gotta stop doing that shit man."
At this point, I can't help but feel like I've lost the kid.